ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL CUSTOMER SERVICES

COUNCIL 24 NOVEMBER 2016

POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

1.0 EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- 1.1 This report advises members of a vacancy on the Dunoon Health and Social Care Locality Planning Group due to the resignation of Councillor Breslin and invites members to nominate an Elected Member to the Group to fill the vacancy.
- 1.2 The report further advises the Council of the notification from Councillor Robert E Macintyre to re-join the SNP Group.

POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

2.0 INTRODUCTION

- 2.1 A vacancy has arisen on the Dunoon Health and Social Care Locality Planning Group due to the resignation of Councillor Breslin and members are invited to nominate an Elected Member to the Group.
- 2.2 Notification from Councillor Robert E Macintyre that he is re-joining the SNP Group.

3.0 RECOMMENDATIONS

- 3.1 That the Council nominate an elected member from the Dunoon area to sit on the Locality Group.
- 3.2 That the Council note the terms of the report.

4.0 DETAIL

4.1 Locality Planning Groups

The Council at its meeting on 30 June 2016 considered a request for elected member nomination for membership of each of the Argyll and Bute Health and Social Care Partnership's newly established Locality Planning Groups from the Chief Officer for the Partnership. These groups are responsible for planning the delivery of local health and social care services, and are noted in the Groups' Terms of Reference to be the "engine room" in achieving the vision of the Partnership.

Groups had been established in each of the following localities and Council has nominated elected members to each of the Groups:

- Helensburgh and Lomond Councillor Dance
- Dunoon Councillor Breslin
- Oban Councillor MacLean
- Mull and the Islands (includes Iona, Coll, Tiree and Colonsay) Councillor McCuish
- Mid Argyll Councillor Philand
- Islay and Jura Councillor Currie
- Bute Councillor Strong
- Kintyre Councillor Armour

4.2 Due to the resignation of Councillor Breslin from the Dunoon Locality Planning Group a vacancy has arisen which requires to be filled.

5.0 CONCLUSION

- 5.1 This report proposes that Council nominate an elected member to sit on the Dunoon Locality Planning Group.
- 5.2 To note that Councillor Robert E Macintyre has re-joined the SNP Group.
- 5.3 An updated composition is attached at Appendix 1.

6.0 IMPLICATIONS

- 6.1 Policy none.
- 6.2 Financial Travel and subsistence costs of Members attending meetings.
- 6.3 Legal -none
- 6.4 HR none
- 6.5 Equalities none
- 6.6 Risk none
- 6.7 Customer Service none.

Executive Director of Customer Services 1 November 2016

For further information contact: Tricia O'Neill, Central Governance Manager, Kilmory, Lochgilphead, tel: 01546 604384

Appendix 1 – Political Composition

Argyll and Bute Council Political Composition

ARGYLL FIRST (2)

Douglas Philand (Ind) (Leader of Argyll First)

Donald Kelly (Con)

THE ARGYLL, LOMOND AND THE ISLANDS GROUP (11)

Rory Colville (LD)

Maurice Corry (Con)

Robin Currie (LD)

Mary Jean Devon

Kieron Green (Ind)

David Kinniburgh (Con)

Roddy McCuish

Aileen Morton (LD)

Ellen Morton (LD) (Leader of the Argyll, Lomond and the Islands Group)(Depute Leader of the Council)

Gary Mulvaney (Con) Elaine Robertson (Ind)

ALLIANCE OF INDEPENDENT COUNCILLORS (7)

Alistair MacDougall (Ind)

Robert G MacIntyre (Ind)

Donnie MacMillan (Ind)

Alex McNaughton (Ind)

Jimmy McQueen (Ind)

Len Scoullar (Ind) (Provost)

Dick Walsh (Leader of Alliance of Independent Councillors)(Leader of the Council)

SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY GROUP (9)

John Armour William Gordon Blair

Anne Horn

Robert E Macintyre

Julie McKenzie

James Robb

Isobel Strong

Sandy Taylor (Leader of SNP Group)

Richard Trail

REFORM GROUP (3)

Michael Breslin (Leader of the Reform Group)

Vivien Dance (Depute Leader of the Reform Group) Bruce Marshall (Secretary of the Reform Group)

George Freeman (Ind) Iain Stewart MacLean (Ind) John McAlpine (Ind) Neil McIntyre (LAB)

Note:

Ind = Independent

SNP = Scottish National Party NPA = Not Politically Affiliated

LD = Liberal Democrat

Con = Conservative

LAB = Labour